Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University Office of the Provost

Academics Accreditation

Washington State University is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities. Most recently reaffirmed in 2013, WSU has been continuously accredited by its regional higher education authority since 1918.

WSU is currently in a seven-year accreditation cycle from 2011-2018. Revised in 2010, NWCCU’s accreditation standards require self-studies addressing one to three standards over a multi-year cycle. These periodic self-studies accrue into one comprehensive report and site visit at the end of the seven years.

April 2018

  • NWCCU Site Visit to WSU

March 2017

  • Standard 3 [Planning and Implementation]
  • Standard 4 [Effectiveness and Improvement]
  • Standard 5 [Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, and Sustainability]
  • Updates to Standards 1-4

March 2013

  • Standard 2 [Resources and Capacity]
  • Update to Standard 1
  • NWCCU Offsite Review

March 2011

  • Standard 1 [Mission]

In addition, many undergraduate and graduate programs maintain specialized professional accreditation. The Office of Assessment of Teaching and Learning has compiled a list of WSU accredited programs.

For more information about the university’s accreditation process, contact Dr. Erica Austin, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at

Washington State University