Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University
Washington State University Office of the Provost

Faculty Awards

Annual Awards

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

WSU’s Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award was first presented in 2000. This award is the university’s highest faculty honor.


The criteria for the Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award are as follows:

  • Recipient must be a full-time Washington State University faculty member
  • Recipient must have served the university for a minimum of 10 years
  • Recipient must have changed the thinking in his or her field by making lasting contributions through teaching, research, creative scholarship, and service
  • Recipient must have contributed notably to the vitality and strength of the Washington State University Community

Application Process

Nominators are asked to submit the nomination form, a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae, and a narrative of 1000 words or less, stating why the nominee meets the award criteria and is deserving of the award.  Please do not submit additional information during the initial phase.  At a later date, the nominator(s) may be asked to provide additional supporting information, such as additional letters of support, upon request from the selection committee.

Previous Award Recipients

2021 recipient Douglas Call
Play video

2020 recipient John Browse

Play video

2019 recipient K.W. Hipps
Play video

2018 recipient Mark G. Kuzyk
Play video

2017 recipient Kelvin Lynn
Play video

Award Recipients

2021Douglas Call
2020John Browse
2019K.W. Hipps
2018Mark Kuzyk
2017Kelvin Lynn
2016B.W. "Joe" Pooviah
2015John Reganold
2014 Ronald C. Mittelhammer
2013Guy H. Palmer
2012Michael J. Smerdon
2011Gregory W. Yasinitsky
2010James M. Kruger
2009Michael D. Griswold
2008Anjan Bose
2007J.Thomas Dickinson
2006Jack D. Rogers
2005Yogendra M. Gupta
2004Frances K. McSweeney
2003Rodney B. Croteau
2002Don Dillman
2001Ralph Yount